April 22 in Cardinals History

Transaction Wire

1925 In their home opener against Cincinnati at Sportsman’s Park, Branch Rickey’s Cardinals collect 12 hits in the first frame to establish a National League mark. The batting barrage accounts for 11 runs scoring in the inning en route to the Redbirds’ 12-3 rout of the Reds.

1955-The St. Louis Cardinals purchased George Spencer from the New York Giants

1968– The St. Louis Cardinals traded Jack Lamabe and Ron Piche to the Chicago Cubs for Dave Dowling and Pete Mikkelse

1985- The St. Louis Cardinals released Art Howe.

1988 Two weeks into the season, the World Champion Twins deal their reliable right fielder Tom Brunansky to the Cardinals for second baseman Tommy Herr. Minnesota had hoped their newly acquired switch-hitting infielder would be an ideal No. 2 hitter in front of Kirby Puckett and Kent Hrbek, but the 32 year-old will hit .263 playing in only 86 games due to injuries.

2000 Homers by Mark McGwire and Fernando Tatis help to establish a National League record for the most team home runs in April when the Cardinals go yard 42 times. The Braves had hit 41 home runs in April of 1998.


Sandy Burk (April 22, 1887 – October 11, 1934) played for the Cardinals 1912-1913 and ended his major league career with 4-11 record and a 4.25 ERA.

Taylor Douthit (April 22, 1901 – May 28, 1986) became a major league regular in 1926. As a rookie, he hit .308 and then .267 in the World Series to help St. Louis win the championship. He hit .291 in his career with 29 home runs. 

Lew Riggs  (April 22, 1910 – August 12, 1975) was a member of the 1934 World Champion St. Louis Cardinals.  

Dan O’Brien played for the Cardinals in 1978-1979. He played in 13 games and had a 1-3 record and 5.90 ERA. He pitched 29 innings, allowed 43 hits, 11 walks, 17 strikeouts, and 10 earned runs. 



Dan McGeehan 1911
Wheezer Dell 1912
Bill Sherdel 1918
Jack Berly 1924
Clarence Heise 1934
Harry Breechen 1940
Glenn Crawford 1945
Jack Creel 1945
Vinegar Bend Mizell 1952
Lloyd Merritt 1957
Paul Toth 1962



Pete Castiglione 2010