October 10 in Cardinals History

Cardinals History


Baseball Events

In 1968, Cardinal fireballer Bob Gibson sets the mark for total strikeouts (35) in a World Series, but loses the seventh and deciding game to Tigers, 4-1.

Also in 1968, In the fifth inning of Game 7 of the World Series, Dal Maxvill pops out to first base, becoming the first major leaguer to go 0-for-22 in the Fall Classic. The Cardinal shortstop surpasses the single series infamous mark previously shared by Gil Hodges (1952 – Dodgers), Red Murray (1911 – Giants), Billy Sullivan (1906 -White Sox) and Jimmy Sheckard (1906 -Cubs). 

 Bob Gibson goes the distance in his eighth consecutive World Series game, losing Game 7 to Detroit, 4-1 in 1968. The only time the St. Louis Cardinal right-hander, who will compile a 1.89 postseason ERA, didn’t finish a Fall Classic contest was in his first appearance in 1964 when he tossed eight innings against the Yankees.

 Ken Dayley became the first Cardinals player to have Tommy John surgery. in 1986, performed on him (1st was 9/25/1974).

In 2009, In Matt Holliday’s first at-bat at home since his critical error allowed LA to stage an amazing comeback victory, the Cardinals’ left fielder receives a standing ovation from the sellout crowd of 47,296 at Busch Stadium. The former NLCS MVP award winner (Colorado – 2007), who will become a free agent after the season, is touched by the fans’ reaction and very appreciative of their support.


Trades and Transactions

  • The Cardinals traded Gus Mancuso and Ray Starr to the New York Giants for Ethan Allen, Jim Mooney, Bob O’Farrell and Bill Walker in 1932.
  • The Cardinals release Pepper Martin in 1944.
  • Cardinals signed Tito Landrum in 1972 as an amateur free agent.
  • The Dodgers selected Tripp Cromer off waivers in 1996 from the Cardinals.
  • The Atlanta Braves, in 1996, selected Ben VanRyn off waivers from the Cardinals.



  • Homer Peel 1902
  • Bobby Tiefenauer 1929
  • Gene Tenace 1946
  • Luther Hackman 1975
  • Placido Polanco 1975
  • Kyle Gibson 1987
  • Kolten Wong 1990
  • Shelby Miller 1990
  • Genesis Cabrera 1996


  • NONE