October 19 in Cardinals History

This Date in Cardinals History



Baseball Events

1964 Two days after manager Johnny Keane announces his departure from the Redbirds to join the Yankees, Cardinals general manager Bob Howsam announces the resignation of team consultant Branch Rickey, stating he has no explanation for the 83 year-old’s decision to leave the club. The move is seen as the continuation of the front office shakeup for the World Champs, that also includes the resignation of Eddie Stanky as the director of player development and the dismissal of former GM Bing Devine.
2005 The Astros, one of six teams to have never played in the World Series, break the franchise’s 43-year drought and advance to the Fall Classic, beating the Cardinals in the NLCS, 5-1. Houston had been close before, coming up short five times in their history in a game with the NL flag on the line, including being one strike away in Game 5 before Albert Pujols dashed the hometown dreams by hitting a two-strike, two out three-run ninth-inning homer, forcing a Game 6 in St. Louis.

2006 For a new generation of fans, the term “the Catch” may conjure up memories of Endy Chavez’s NLCS Game 7 leaping catch at Shea’s left field fence with his outstretched glove, grabbing a ball destined to be a Scott Rolen two-run home run and starting an unbelievable double play. The heroics are overshadowed in the ninth inning as Yadier Molina hits a two-run homer and Carlos Beltran, who has the best HR ratio (11/81) in postseason history, looks at a third strike with the bases loaded with Mets, giving the Cardinals a 3-1 victory and the pennant.

Trades and Transactions

1954- The St. Louis Cardinals released Al Brazle. (his 41st birthday)

1954- The St. Louis Cardinals released Peanuts Lowrey.  The St. Louis Cardinals traded Marc Ronan to the Milwaukee Brewers for Mike Stefanski (minors).

1990- Danny Cox of the St. Louis Cardinals granted free agency.

1990- Mark Thompson of the St. Louis Cardinals granted free agency.



  • Mordecai (Three Fingers) Brown 1876
  • Bob O’Farrell 1896
  • Al Brazle 1913
  • Sam Nahem 1915
  • Mike Perez 1964
  • Joe McEwing 1972
  • Daniel Descalso 1986
  • Sam Tuivailala 1992
  • J.A. Happ 1982


  • Frank Barnes 2014
  • Ray Katt 1999
  • Bunny Hearn 1959
  • Bill Steele 1949