John Tudor and Rick Sutcliffe face off Opening Day on April 8, 1986 in front of 48,672 fans at Busch Stadium II.

The line-up cards are exchanged at home plate with the umpiring crew HP – Harry Wendelstedt, 1B – Terry Tata, 2B – Jerry Crawford, 3B – Charlie Williams.

The Cubs lineup:

  • Bob Dermier
  • Manny Trillo
  • Ryne andberg
  • Keith Moreland
  • Leon Durham
  • Jody Davis
  • Brian Dayett
  • Shawon Dunston
  • Rick Sutcliffe

The Cardinals lineup:

  • Vince Coleman
  • Willie McGee
  • Tom Herr
  • Jack Clark
  • Andy Van Slyke
  • TerryPendleton
  • Mike Heath
  • Ozzie Smith
  • John Tudor

Nobody scores until the bottom of the 4th inning until Tom Herr walks, Clark singles and then Van Slyke singles in two runs and the Cardinals lead 2-0. We move to the top of the 7th and Sandberg leads off for the Cubs with a single followed by a one out single by Leon Durham. Tudor gets Jody Davis to hit a flyball that score one run and that is all they get. It is a Cardinals 2-1 lead.

That will become the final score as Tudor pitches a complete game allowing five hits, one run, one walk and one strikeout for the victory. Sutcliffe is the bad luck loser as he goes 7 innings allowing two hits, two runs with four walks and seven strikeouts.


SF: J Davis (1, off J Tudor).
TB: R Sandberg 2; K Moreland; L Durham; B Dernier.
GIDP: R Sandberg (1).
RBI: J Davis (1).
Team LOB: 4.
With RISP: 0 for 1.
E: S Dunston (1); J Davis (1).


IBB: O Smith (1, by R Sutcliffe).
TB: J Clark; A Van Slyke.
RBI: A Van Slyke 2 (2).
Team LOB: 6.
With RISP: 1 for 4.
DP: 1. T Pendleton-T Herr-J Clark.
SB: M Heath (1, 2nd base off R Sutcliffe/J Davis); T Herr (1, 2nd base off J Baller/J Davis).


Time of Game: 2:12
The Cardinals went 79-82 during the season and finished 3rd in the National League East division.
Pitcher Todd Worrell won the Rookie of the Year Award this year, with a 2.08 ERA and 36 saves. This was the second consecutive year a Cardinal won the Rookie of the Year Award, with Vince Coleman winning the previous season, and the second time in team history that the Cardinals had two consecutive NL Rookie of the Year winners (Wally Moon in 1954 and Bill Virdon in 1955). Shortstop Ozzie Smith and outfielder Willie McGee won Gold Gloves this year.

Notable transactions in 1986

April 1, 1986: Brian Harper was released by the Cardinals.
April 11, 1986: Ray Burris was signed as a free agent by the Cardinals.
June 12, 1986: Jerry White was released by the Cardinals
July 19, 1986: César Cedeño was signed as a free agent by the Cardinals.
July 24, 1986: Steve Lake was signed as a free agent by the Cardinals.
August 10, 1986: Mike Heath was traded by the Cardinals to the Detroit Tigers for Ken Hill and a player to be named later. The Tigers completed the deal by sending Mike Laga to the Cardinals on September 2.
August 27, 1986: Ray Burris was released by the St. Louis Cardinals.

1986 St. Louis Cardinals Roster

43 Greg Bargar
36 Joe Boever
35 Ray Burris
39 Tim Conroy
34 Danny Cox
46 Ken Dayley
41 Bill Earley
31 Bob Forsch
49 Ricky Horton
50 Kurt Kepshire
32 Jeff Lahti
53 Greg Mathews
40 Rick Ownbey
37 Pat Perry
47 Ray Soff
30 John Tudor
38 Todd Worrell
5 Mike Heath
25 Steve Lake
10 Mike LaValliere
22 Jack Clark
28 Tom Herr
13 Clint Hurdle
23 Alan Knicely
35 Mike Laga
12 Tom Lawless
15 Jim Lindeman
5 Fred Manrique
11 Jose Oquendo
9 Terry Pendleton
1 Ozzie Smith
29 Vince Coleman
27 Curt Ford
21 Tito Landrum
51 Willie McGee
33 John Morris
18 Andy Van Slyke
25 Jerry White
24 Whitey Herzog
7 Rich Hacker (First Base)
8 Johnny Lewis (Hitting)
16 Nick Leyva (Third Base)
3 Dave Ricketts (Bullpen)
4 Mike Roarke (Pitching)
2 Red Schoendienst (Bench)